Archangelos Michail Convent

EXCURSIONS / Religious Monuments / Nicosia / Archangelos Michail Convent
Dating to the Byzantine period, the church was founded by Archbishop Nikiforos whose tomb can be seen in the narthex.

Rebuilding was carried out in 1636 and in 1713 when it was acquired by Kykkos Monastery. The iconostasis dates back to 1650 and there is a 1785 fresco of Archangelos Michail. Situated off the Lefkosia -Anthoupolis road, some 10 minutes drive from Lefkosia (Nicosia), the church now houses the Kykkos Monastery Research Centre.


Address: Lefkosia
Operating Period: All year round

 

Σχετικά Άρθρα


Pafos District Archaeological Mu...

The Archaeological Museum of the Pafos District is located on Griva Digenis Street at the town's entrance.


Arsos (Linear) Nature Trail

The trail follows the stream from the tap to the Athkies Poullin faucet, passing two other traditional sources and offers...


Kampos tou Livadiou Trail (Circu...

One of the main characteristics of this path is the ancient black pine trees that you will see along the way.


Trooditissa Monastery

The exact date of the foundation of Trooditissa Monastery, situated on the southern slopes of the Troodos Mountains, is...